Four of Swords

August 20, 2007 § 1 Comment

Here’s the thing: this morning I was thinking about writing a post about the 4 of Swords because I’d had a nice, relaxing weekend. Then work happened and I forgot all about it.

I sat down this evening wanting to write something for this blog but none of the usual topics appealed so I thought, hey (well, no, I didn’t think that – my thoughts rarely begin with ‘hey’), why don’t I just draw a card at random to write about? So I did. And it was the 4 of Swords. Ta da.

 The 4 of Swords I’m looking at as I type this is from the Housewives Tarot. There’s a lot of cucumber in this card. Well, of course – cucumber is cool and so is the 4 of Swords. There are also a lot of lotions and oils. Four knives rest snugly in a knifeblock, taking a break from the dangerous whizzing around they do in many of the cards in this deck. And of course, there’s the lady with a face mask and cucumber over her eyes and her hair wrapped up in a towel.

4 of Swords

The 4 of Swords is the ‘time out’ card and that’s why I was going to write about it this morning. Because at the weekend, I took some real time out: played some board games, had a nap in the middle of the afternoon, generally did nothing requiring any real effort. More importantly, I spent most of it away from the computer.

Swords represent the mind and mental activity, so the 4 of Swords signifies mental rest (or mental routine – either way, something that isn’t very demanding). Sometimes we need to shut off, and it’s not just to recover, although that can be one good use of a time out. My 4 of Swords weekend gave my brain time to just sit, like farmland left to fallow. And eventually, out of the quietness, came some small new thoughts – thoughts I probably wouldn’t have heard or have paid attention to at any other time. I also had an incredible feeling of calm.

Okay, so there’s no great insight here. But it was worth writing about because it’s worth remembering. I’m a big fan of quiet time, but sometimes I just forget to have any.

§ One Response to Four of Swords

  • willow says:

    It is so important to take those Four of Swords moments, afternoons or entire weekends. 🙂

    I love the Housewives Tarot. It’s a fun and amazingly insightful deck.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Four of Swords at Archer Tarot.

meta

