Deck Desire Strikes Again

August 23, 2007 § 2 Comments

There I was, minding my own business, trying to find out something for a customer, when BAM! I walked into this. I have long been aware of the Alchemical Tarot but although I found it intriguing, I didn’t much like the big borders. But now…now, I’ve laid eyes on this Art Edition and life will never be the same. The colours! The card! The thin borders! The wooden box and beautiful blue backs!

The Alchemical Tarot Art Edition 

Alas, it is not meant to be. At $330 it is way, way out of my league, so I must move on and learn to live without it.

Perhaps this will help. The Tarot of the Saints is perhaps not as…shall we say…elegant as the Alchemical Art Edition, but it IS lovely and I am constantly compelled to learn new things so it would give me a chance to explore the stories of the Saints. Plus, it’s much more reasonably priced.

The Tarot of the Saints

Actually, the thing that most intrigued me about it was something I read in this review by Nellie Levine. She includes an extract from the book about the Queen of Staffs card, which starts: “St. Genevieve, the young shepherdess, stands with her crook and her lamb.” My beloved Vacchetta uses the same image for its Regina di Bastoni (Queen of Wands), though whether it is meant to be St Genevieve or whether either tradition influenced the other, I don’t know. But it does give me the perfect excuse to buy the deck. Research purposes, you see?

St Genevieve    Regina di Bastoni

§ 2 Responses to Deck Desire Strikes Again

  • melissa says:

    I found the Saints deck at discountnewagebooks.com for $12. The artist Alchemical is stunning!!! Maybe you could trim the borders on the mass market edition?

  • archertarot says:

    Hi Melissa, thanks for the tip! The Tarot of the Saints is on my wishlist but I haven’t caved yet. So little money, so many things to buy 😉
    I’m watching an Alchemical on ebay at the moment – if I got one I could trim the borders but I’m hesitating. I love what I’ve seen of the art edition but I think there are other decks I’d prefer (such as the Saints).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Deck Desire Strikes Again at Archer Tarot.

meta

