The Bug

September 8, 2007 § 2 Comments

There’s an old Mary Chapin Carpenter song that goes, “Sometimes you’re the windshield; sometimes you’re the bug.” This week, me and mine have all been bugs. The windshields have been washing machines and TVs that have suddenly gone kaput and need replacing; car service bills totalling almost £1000; an avalanche of Things That Need to Be Done; and carefully laid plans that have had to be cancelled. And all this happening in the shadow of two very sad situations which I can’t bear to talk about here.

When I was thinking about this earlier today, it was the Vacchetta version of the WOF that flashed in my head. No other WOF card (that I’ve seen anyway) so succinctly depicts ‘being the bug’. The woman riding high – carelessly losing money from her horn of plenty – is what draws your eye at first. But there’s the bug, down at the bottom of the card. Squashed underneath a giant wheel, caught out by a turn of events we can’t stop, us bugs have very little to say in the matter.

The reassuring thing is that the card shows the big picture. It’s a reminder that when you’re down you’ll soon be up, and when you’re up, you’ll eventually be coming down (so don’t throw away too much of that money). The wheel keeps turning, and if you’re lucky – and you’re not too squished – you can get up, brush yourself down, and grab hold for the upward journey.

Which is more than can be said for the bug.

La Fortuna

§ 2 Responses to The Bug

  • Bea says:

    Hi, the blog looks great. But now you have me worried about the sad things, so I am forced (well, ok, not forced, but..well..ah – you know) to leave a comment here to tell you that I am thinking about you. Hope things are ok. Alright, clearly things aren’t ok, cuz well, I read the blog – sigh. Me words are not coming out right. I probably should have stopped right after the “I am thinking about you” – yes, that is where I will leave it.

    Bea
    xo

  • archertarot says:

    Thanks Bea, I appreciate it. Nice to hear from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Bug at Archer Tarot.

meta

