Universal Fantasy

January 21, 2008 § 9 Comments

I have been doing some readings over the last few weeks using the Universal Fantasy Tarot. This is a deck I got around the middle of last year and, until Christmas, had never used. I got it because I love love love Paolo Martinello’s art, which portrays an imaginary kingdom rich in swirling colours. The reason I didn’t bother trying to read with it is because I (mistakenly) believed it would be one of those decks which made sense only to its creator. The majority of cards depict highly unusual scenes. Here are a few of my favourites:

Universal Fantasy

In truth, it is surprisingly easy to read with and in many instances, very literal. The pictures seem to describe fairy tales or fables. What quest is the adventurer in the 7 of Swords on and what dangers await him? Who is the shadowy figure in the 9 of Swords and is he really as fearsome as he seems? What diabolical spell is the mage casting in the 3 of Cups? As a writer, I think this would be a very good deck to consult for story ideas and inspiration.

§ 9 Responses to Universal Fantasy

  • Tarot Dame says:

    I have been on the fence about this deck for awhile now. It is very captivating imagery, isn’t it?

  • archertarot says:

    Yes, although you’ll notice there are no Wands up there. For some reason the Wands suit isn’t as striking. Still, I’m looking forward to doing more readings with it.

  • Nathalie says:

    Someone snipped the borders off of this deck and the effect was immediately enchanting and exiting! I too have been on the fence regarding this deck for ages but now armed with my trusty scissors and corner rounder–well, you know the rest!!!!!!

  • Lynda Cowles says:

    Wow, I’ve never actually considered trimming this deck – trimming the Crystal Tarot put me off trimming LS decks for good as it came out so small. But the UF doesn’t have as much borderage, and I can imagine it would look amazing trimmed….hmm, off to search for pics!

  • Nathalie says:

    Have just finished trimming my Hudes deck–yes, it’s much smaller now but like Adam Ant, it’s size is no deterrent for power and personality! I was so impressed with the improvement–the deck is now vibrant, almost dizzying! Did the same with the Llewellyn deck–it too is much smaller but the effect was mezmerising! The lovely soft magic of each card now spills right out to the reader–it’s just such a wonder! I was about to resell these decks because for some reason I couldn’t connect with them. Now I know why! Those borders are so confining….I am so glad I found out about this addictive and effective method of bringing tarot decks to life. I wonder how the artists would feel if they saw what’s going on lol.

  • Lynda Cowles says:

    Okay, now I’m intrigued…how on earth did you trim the Hudes? I would have loved to but I was defeated by those ‘viney’ borders. Are there any pics on the web?

  • Nathalie says:

    Lol–I know the viney things were a bit challenging–but after studying the cards for a while I noticed there is a regular border inside the viney one. The majors sadly are smaller because they have two title borders, one on top and one on the bottom, so you have the option of choosing how you want to play with those. I opted for the bottom title border for the majors and no titles for the other cards, thus making them all equal in size. I sort of regretted not leaving the two borders for the majors and leaving one for the minors which would have given the cards a more elegant biscotti-shaped allure, but I made my piece with that regret since the effect after rounding the corners, was absolutely incredible–the colours and people just pop out, as I was mentioning before, the effect is almost dizzying–I am so thrilled with their magic now! Perhaps one day if I come across a cheap used deck I shall attempt to operate on them in the other manner I imagined–one snip too late!
    May I also add that I trimmed the Sacred Southwest Tribe deck too? Another amazing transformation….sigh…turned the deck into a miniature dreamy mystic misty Native world….

  • Nathalie says:

    Forgot to mention; sorry no pics as far as I know, don’t have a proper camera or else I would send you pics of mine.

  • Lisa M Wright says:

    I have a question. Where is the face on the Queen of Swords?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Universal Fantasy at Archer Tarot.

meta

