No time…

January 30, 2008 § Leave a comment

Here we are, not even a full month into the new year, and deadlines are already looming over me like nine heavy swords. And I’m very annoyed about it, because I haven’t had any time to blog and I seem to have so much I want to write about. In truth, keeping this blog going has been a touchstone for me over the last few months and I get quite antsy when I can’t get to it.

But here I am now, for a few short minutes anyway, so I will try to get a few things off my mind. The first and freshest is that I’ve got my eye on the Roots of Asia, which arrived yesterday for the store. I hadn’t paid this deck much attention before so I took a look at some scans to try to get a feel for it. It’s quite lovely. It doesn’t seem to be a far cry from the Haindl, as they’re both very calm, very sacred decks. The art is very different though, obviously, as the Roots of Asia is inspired by Buddhist teachings and strongly draws on Eastern art. Here are a few cards that have caught my eye (take a close look at that Death card):

asia.jpg

Another thing on my mind is what to do about my readings website. I haven’t sold a reading since October (or it may have been September, I’m not sure). That doesn’t bother me so much, because it’s been a busy time of year, but I am wondering where to go from here. I feel like I need to either abandon it altogether or give it a complete overhaul (or ‘rebrand’, as they say in the biz). I’d like to do a reading about it when I get some free time (ha ha).

What else? Oh yes, I’ve been wondering where to go with my personal tarot studies. There is so much more I want to study about the Haindl, but after using it almost exclusively for several months I’m feeling drawn to other decks. A lovely forum friend of mine is going to send me the Shining Tribe Tarot by Rachel Pollack, and I’ll also have the Alchemical Renewed on the way in February. I’ve hardly looked at the four new decks I got for Christmas, let alone read with them, and now I’m considering adding the Roots of Asia to my collection. Last night I got all my decks out of the drawer and gazed lovingly at them for a while. I would like to get to know them all a lot better but that can’t be done quickly. And I’m worried that if I jump from deck to deck, I’ll get all distracted and fragmented. Sticking to the Haindl has been very grounding for me. On the bright side, seeing as I have no time, I can’t really play with any of them, so that solves that problem.

I’ve also been wanting to mention another reader’s website: Tarot of the Three Moons. It belongs to Helen Howell, who gave me a very comforting and helpful reading a couple of weeks ago. If you’re looking for a competent and thoughtful reader, I highly recommend her.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading No time… at Archer Tarot.

meta

