An Old Friend

March 24, 2008 § Leave a comment

Over the last week or so, I’ve been getting re-acquainted with my Morgan-Greer. I can’t remember exactly when I bought it but it’s been a few years and for the first few months that it was in my possession I lived and breathed it. I’m not sure what made me stop but I imagine another deck came along (probably the Druidcraft). Whatever the reason, the upshot is that 20 or so decks later my Morgan-Greer had been relegated to the very back of the drawer.

Which is a crying shame. Not only is the Morgan-Greer a classic deck, it’s also a very beautiful deck. It’s easy to learn, easy to use and easy to read. What’s more – and most important – it’s familiar to me. It’s the comfortable shoes among the impractical heels, summer sandals and heavy winter boots that make up the rest of my tarot collection. It’s my good-old-reliable, which makes it even more of a crime that I had forgotten about it for so long. It was only when I recently compiled the list of My Top Decks of All Time that I realized – or rather, remembered – what a truly great deck it is.

Fortunately, it’s never too late to set things straight. Me and my old friend Morgan have been catching up and we’re having a whale of a time. As it turns out, neither of us has changed that much over the years and we’ve still got all the same things in common. My guess is I won’t be so quick to let us fall out of touch in future.

morgangreer.jpg

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Old Friend at Archer Tarot.

meta

