The Art of Temperance

March 24, 2008 § 2 Comments

Temperance has been coming up in readings quite a bit for me lately. As I was thinking about this earlier today, I realized that I would do well to apply a little Temperance to my life at the moment. No, I’m not hitting the bottle for breakfast, but I am being impatient. I keep fiddling with things, trying to make them yield results, disappointed that nothing happens straight away and then fiddling with them some more. My readings website for example. I’ve changed it yet again this weekend. I like it and I’m glad I changed it, but I only uploaded it on Saturday and already I’m thinking ‘what if I did this, or that?’ (Truth be told, I’ve already fiddled with it twice since it went live. I should be ashamed of myself.)

Temperance teaches the art of patience. Pour water from one jug to another, then pour it back again. Pay attention, be calm. It’s a very zen card. Meanwhile, while you’ve been busy focusing on the jugs of water, the sun has risen behind you. Did you believe that simply pouring water from one jug to another could make the sun rise? Sometimes the smallest movements can have the biggest effect.

14_major_temperance.jpg

(Temperance from the International Icon Tarot.)

§ 2 Responses to The Art of Temperance

  • Balakirev says:

    I like your explanation, but why would they call it temperance, then, rather than patience? It’s just me, but I’ve always thought a better image for temperance would be a blacksmith using the four elements to temper something he was making.

  • archertarot says:

    Hi Balakirev 🙂
    These were just some random thoughts about how Temperance seemed to relate to things I was doing last weekend. Patience isn’t the first thing that would usually spring to mind when I think of Temperance but it seemed to make sense in this situation – telling me not to push so hard, and to give things time and space to evolve on their own.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Art of Temperance at Archer Tarot.

meta

