A Work in Progress (Maybe)

June 18, 2008 § 6 Comments

Today I remembered a deck I was designing about a year and a half ago. My big plan was to finish it in a few months – or, at least, finish the majors – and then publish it to great acclaim or something like that. I sort of fizzled out (as I tend to do ) after a few cards.

Anyway, I’ve been looking back at it this evening and maybe it is worth salvaging. I’d actually only finished eight cards, and half of them I’m not that happy with. But I rather like these – the Fool, the High Priestess, the Star and the Sun:

   

   

Anyway, I just thought I’d share, seeing as this may be the only exposure they’ll ever get…

§ 6 Responses to A Work in Progress (Maybe)

  • Kate Bedell says:

    Hi Lynda,

    I’m writing to say how great your tarot desings are. I found your site by following you’re name after watching Tarot Stripped Bare…it flashed past the credits so quickly I had to rewind and pause to see it. I may have missed it but surely your name should be placed on the front cover of the DVD, along with your tarot card of The High Priestess? Or maybe like the High Priestess herself you would like to remain mysterious? 🙂 Anyway, I loved reading your blog. Your writing stlye is very refreshing and I felt an affinity with you when you wrote about your Tarot designs, saying that after doing 8 designs you fizzled out. I too have painted the same cards as you, with the addition of The Magician and The Tower and three of the Aces. And I seem to have fizzled out too! As Art and Tarot are my two great loves, I wonder how I am managing to neglect both at the moment. Anyway, I thought I’d write to you to encourage you to keep going with it as I know how long a process it is to produce a set of Tarot cards. On another note, I was very impressed with the DVD and would also like to mention that the three short readings I did using your method and meanings were simple and succinct. Just what I needed! I’m looking forward to hearing more about your book. Keep me posted please! Kind regards, Kate 😉

  • archertarot says:

    Hi Kate,

    Thank you so much for your kind comments and sorry for the delayed reaction…Lots of things have been keeping me away from the blog recently but I’m hoping to make a slow but steady comeback. I’m really chuffed you went to the trouble to track me down and it’s great that you liked the DVD. 🙂

    I hope you keep going with your tarot deck. I took a look at your site and unlike me you clearly have talent! I’d love to see the cards you’ve done so far.

    Lynda

  • katebedell says:

    Hi Lynda,

    Thanks for your compliments about my work. Since reading your blog, and buying the new Pen Tarot, it has indeed rekindled my interest in painting the tarot. I have been trying to track down the original designs and have so far come up with only one…which is The Magician…good start! I have the others in photo form only (I started them in 1988). What I’d like to do is set up a blog and show the work on that. The Problem is I’m not technical, and so will need help to get the images scanned. I will need to enlist the help of my husband. In the meantime I will try and send you the images by “You Send It”.

    Kate

  • archertarot says:

    Doh! I completely forgot about all these comments I was going to reply to!

    Yes, please do let me know when you manage to get any images scanned. I would love to see them. 🙂

  • Nathalie says:

    Dear Linda
    I am so impressed with these cards and am actually drooling over them–they are truly inspired and inspiring….this seems to be an old post (2008) so it looks like this is an abandoned project. And that is a shame. I would have been first in line to purchase this deck. It’s almost impossible to find a collage deck with this level of sensitivity. 😦 You are a magician and don’t even realize it….
    Best Wishes
    By the Way–your writing is absolutely charming and engaging! And smart 🙂
    Nathalie

  • Lynda Cowles says:

    Wow, Nathalie, I don’t know what to say. Thank you for saying such lovely things about the cards and my writing!

    I haven’t done any more cards since I posted those, but I think you may have piqued my interest again ;-). Although, I think the reason I abandoned it was that the other four cards didn’t turn out so well. I’ll have to have a look.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Work in Progress (Maybe) at Archer Tarot.

meta

