Daily Drawing With Intent

December 7, 2008 § 4 Comments

I keep changing my mind about daily draws. Lately, I’ve got into the habit of drawing a card in the morning but I tend to draw it blind. That is, I don’t ask a question or ask for advice for the day or anything like that. I just draw a card at random “to ponder on”. As you might expect, this has mixed results.

I’ve tried drawing daily cards for advice in the past but either a) I spend most of the day trying to figure out what particular situation the card is giving me advice for, or b) I go through my day thinking very little about the card and forget to follow its advice!

Anyway, as I was walking the dog this morning, it occurred to me that I could be using this daily card a bit more constructively. My idea was to decide what it is I want to achieve that day. It might be something practical such as complete a particular task at work or make some progress on my book. Or it could be something less tangible like be supportive of a family member. I guess it could also be something negative, like “I don’t want to waste so much time clicking around forums today”. 🙂 Then I draw a card to give me advice on how best to go about achieving my goal for the day.

I quite like this idea. It’s less random than a random daily draw, and it makes me ultimately responsible for the content of my day. As well, since I’ve been doing this Deck of the Month doo-dah thing, I’m invariably using a deck I’m not that familiar with so this method of “drawing with intent” gives me a better chance of getting to know the deck. I find it much easier to understand what a card’s telling me if I have some kind of context in which to interpret it.

Okay, so let’s put this to the test shall we? Today is a lovely sunny Sunday in December and now the work stuff and chores are out of the way, I’ve got the rest of the afternoon and evening to spend however I like. So what do I want to achieve today? Well, at the forefront of my mind is the fact that baby is now 8 days overdue. I’ve got a hospital appointment tomorrow where I’m sure they’re going to start talking about ways to hurry things along and that makes me nervous. What I really want to do today is try to relax and regain the patience and “what will be, will be” attitude I had a few days ago. What will the Lunatic Tarot advise?

King of Wands

Well, I have to admit…I was expecting something a little more calming. But this makes sense. The reason I’m starting to panic is that I feel the consultant I’m seeing tomorrow is going to steamroller me. I feel that they’re going to start dictating what needs to happen and when, whereas I still want to allow more time for baby to arrive when she’s ready. The King of Wands tells me that I need to retain authority over my personal realm, i.e. my body and my baby. They can’t make me do anything I don’t want to so I need to go in there with my own ideas and not be afraid to be assertive. This king looks very sure of himself and very much in control. Also, with his red hair and white beard, he doesn’t seemed concerned about going against the grain.

Whilst this might sound like a reading about what to do tomorrow, it does help me today. If I’m confident that nothing will happen tomorrow that I don’t want to happen, then I’ll be able to put any worries out of my mind today.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Daily Drawing With Intent

  • Quiet says:

    Yes, I’ve seen the King of Wands represent a medical doctor so perhaps the image simply validates your concerns and gives you time to think about what you want.

    Good luck with the birth 🙂

  • archertarot says:

    Actually, that exact same thought crossed my mind after I posted. The King of Wands is probably a very good representation of a consultant. In fact, when I went in to hospital for monitoring a few weeks ago a consultant was doing the rounds. He introduced himself and then said, “you’ve probably heard of me”.

    Er, no. But how very King of Wands of you… 😀

  • Helen says:

    I think reading with intent for a daily card is a great approach, because as you say sometimes when we draw a card and just ask what should I be aware of today, we can spend most of the day wondering how this is going to eventuate. Although I did have quite a bit of success with the Old English deck as a daily draw as it seems to be very literal.

    However drawing with intent does help you to focus on what you want to achieve and I think I might just try it!

    PS Don’t forget that the King of Wands is able to use his creativity to achieve his goals 😉

  • Dani says:

    Coming late to this, but wanted to say, Archer, that I really like this idea!

    Doubt I’ll try it every day, but when I remember I will – it connects with how I tend to do readings for myself: I ask for advice on approaches to what I want so that I interpret in a useful manner and may (fingers crossed) avoid just seeing what I want to see. It’s part of making a reading practical, I think.

    Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Daily Drawing With Intent at Archer Tarot.

meta

