New Year’s Day

January 1, 2009 § 4 Comments

New Year’s Day is my favourite day of the year. After the excess, pressure, and general mayhem of Christmas, New Year is a welcome relief. Whereas the success of Christmas seems to be all about the various trappings and preparations, New Year requires no special equipment – you just need to keep one ear open for Big Ben. And because it’s so simple and so short a celebration, it’s magical in a way that Christmas can never be.

For me, New Year is a time of great promise, hope, optimism, enthusiasm and joy. I look forward to the long year ahead and believe that I can spend it doing whatever I set my mind to. I always associate the Ace of Swords with New Year – because it’s so bright and pure; because that shining blade pointing north is just like the hands on a clock pointing to midnight; because it symbolises good intentions, fresh ideas and new resolutions; because its crisp clarity is the perfect partner to the cold month of January and because, like New Year, its influence eventually fades. As the year progresses, I seem to get more and more bogged down by bad habits and sidetracked by trivialities but on January 1st, my newly laid plans seem so easily achievable.

My New Year’s wish for 2009 is that I will write more and read more, and relish the time spent doing both.

Happy New Year.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to New Year’s Day

  • Helen says:

    Happy New year to you too Archer 🙂

  • viemagiquesn says:

    I like that association of New Year’s Day with the Ace of Swords, Lynda. Perhaps, as the year wears on and we get bogged down – pulling out that Ace of Swords can help bring us back to the essential spirit of New Year?

  • Quiet says:

    I’m a little late to this but happy new year anyway, Lynda and congratulations on the birth of your daughter! That indeed is wonderful news.

    I’m just an occasional visitor.

    Kate (once Mojo’s Owl)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Year’s Day at Archer Tarot.

meta

