Temptation

August 20, 2009 § 3 Comments

Against all better judgement, I’ve bought a copy of the Tarot Universal Dali to sell at Tarot Chest. Why is this potentially a bad idea? Because it’s a very expensive deck and if it doesn’t sell, I’m going to feel a bit foolish. But I couldn’t resist. It has shiny gold edges. It comes in a furry red slipcase. And…it’s the Dali Tarot. It’s literally a work of art. It took me almost an hour to add it to the site this afternoon, mainly because I couldn’t stop flicking through the scans at taroteca. (Occupational hazard…I can’t tell you how many (wo)man hours we lose to that every year. ;-))

Now I have the difficult task of seeing it on the shelf every day until someone buys it. And I’m not sure I possess the willpower required to let it just sit there. How long can I last? Will anyone save me? Or will I succumb to temptation and make it mine? Tune in again for the next exciting installment…

P.S. This is my favourite card. No, hang on. This one is. And this one.

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to Temptation

  • Balakirev says:

    You bought a deck to sell? I’ve never figured on tarot decks as an investment. Or am I missing something? I know the Dali deck’s been around for a while, so unless this is a very limited edition, I would think the prestige of the artist would mean a lot of them are out there, limiting any increase in value over time.

    So perhaps you should just keep it, after all. Especially if you find that, as a whole, it speaks to you.

  • archertarot says:

    Ah, actually I bought the deck as stock for my online store, Tarot Chest. Sorry, I didn’t make that very clear did I. 😦

    Anyway…someone has already bought it, thereby rescuing me from eternal damnation (or something like that). 😀

    • Balakirev says:

      Yes, multiple decks are damnation, or at least, a karmatic decadence that we’ll pay dearly for. :\ But if you’re like me, and find some decks artistically striking, and others like worlds, each unique, drawing you in (and thankfully avoiding the usual R/W plan), then it can become difficult to resist.

      Sorry you missed on the Dali, but I presume it will show up again.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Temptation at Archer Tarot.

meta

