Kali in my Corner

February 23, 2010 § 4 Comments

Kali – Mother of Wands in the East

Everyone should have a friend like Kali.

A few days ago I drew a card to help me decide what to do about a loved one who disapproves of my interest in tarot. When I sat down to do the reading, I braced myself to do some soul-searching. Then Kali barged in.

“Screw them!” she says, in the most literal way imaginable. “You love tarot. Don’t let anyone make you feel bad about doing what you love!”

I see her point. It’s hard not to.

“And don’t try to hide it either. Live it. Own it. Wear it all over your body. Show everyone – this is what you do. This is who you are! It’s not a dirty little secret, it’s a wonderful beautiful exciting thing. And so are you.”

Well, that solved that problem. It’s great having Kali in my corner.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Kali in my Corner

  • l3ea says:

    Go Kali. And go YOU!!

  • Hedera says:

    Ha, that’s great!

    She’s one of my favorite cards in the deck, actually.

    Were there any other cards in your reading, or did you just pull the one?
    I’m still so drawn to the Haindl, but I can somehow never see myself using it in a more-than-one-card reading.

  • archertarot says:

    Ha! Thanks I3ea 🙂 Nice to see you!

    Just the one, Hedera. I’m the queen of one-card draws lately. I tell myself that it’s because one-card draws are all that’s needed in most situations (which I think is possibly true) but, secretly, thinking about doing any reading larger than 3 cards puts me off completely at the moment! Not enough time to do it properly. But I have used the Haindl for quite large readings in the past – the Hagall spread and a Celtic-Cross-a-like – and it read beautifully. It has great “flow” from card to card.

  • geslina says:

    I just got this deck, and can’t begin to say how fascinating and beautiful I find it. I too have to hide my tarot decks and the fact that i have this interest from certain people. It isn’t so much strangers, or even general friends – it’s a family member who is not only religious, but had a bad tarot experience in the past, and thinks it caused someone else in our family to be killed. She is older, and she isn’t going to budge on how she feels about it. So, out of respect for her feelings, I don’t let her know anything about it.

    Glad to have found this blog, as I would like to learn more about this awesome deck!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kali in my Corner at Archer Tarot.

meta

