How to Come Unstuck, Part One

February 16, 2012 § 1 Comment

Do you ever get caught in a loop during a reading where the only thought going through your head is the name of the card you’re staring at? I hope so, because if not I’m going to look pretty stupid here.

It happens to me quite a lot, mostly when I’m attempting to read for myself. It’s like I’m flying at 2000ft, just enjoying the view, when everything I know about the cards – all my years of study and accumulated trivia – straps on the last parachute and drops out the side of the plane. And I’m suddenly hit with the thought that I don’t know how to fly.

Which is a very roundabout way of saying, sometimes my mind goes blank. It’s like I’m looking at the card without seeing it. My brain gets bogged down trying to retrieve all the data it has on the card instead of just reading the card fresh. At least I think that’s what happens.

So this morning I thought of one way to come unstuck. It’s not big and it’s not clever but it may be of help to you one day and it almost certainly will help me most days so I thought I’d post it here for posterity. It consists of two questions:

1. What am I looking at?

2. What’s going on?

So, for example, the 9 of Wands which was the card giving me a headache this morning. The words in brackets are associated thoughts that surfaced as I was answering the questions.

1. What am I looking at?
A guard (be on your guard, keeping watch). A fence (fenced in, putting up fences, defensive behaviour).

2. What’s going on?
Patrolling, protecting, defending, guarding. Keeping out. Keeping in. Being vigilant.

Told you it wasn’t big or clever. But those two simple questions were enough to stop my brain going into overdrive. The first question wants concrete answers – nouns, specifically. The second, verbs. The combination of the two sparks my intuition and gets the interpretative juices flowing again.

It works better with some cards than others. It doesn’t suit court cards very well and majors tend to be a law unto themselves anyway. But you can’t have everything. If this helps me to come unstuck 40 out of 78 times then that’s a start. šŸ™‚

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to How to Come Unstuck, Part One

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How to Come Unstuck, Part One at Archer Tarot.

meta

