My Right Foot

March 2, 2012 § Leave a comment

Here’s the reading I did last week about becoming a TABI free reader using the Right Foot Forward spread. Overall I found it very helpful, despite being flummoxed by Death. If you know what it’s trying to tell me, please let me know.

1 – What am I bringing with me on this journey?

9 OF CUPS

I think this card is about my attitude. I’m a cup-half-full person. I want to use the power of tarot to help people be happy, realize their dreams and make all their wishes come true. Unfortunately, I’m not actually a genie. 😉 At best, maybe I can be an innkeeper, ready to extend a warm welcome, a helpful ear and some friendly advice.

The woman in this card looks pleased as punch and all her cups are already behind her. I take this as a reminder that endorsement is not a done deal. I’ve got a lot of spitting and polishing to do before I can display my cups like hers.

2 – What is my biggest strength?

PAGE OF SWORDS

I use my head. I tend to see tarot readings as puzzles to be solved. When I’m not over-thinking things (see 10 of Rods, below) I enjoy the thrill of the interpretive chase. I try to look for the truth in a reading and like to use logic to combine card meaning with position meaning.

Also, I’m willing to learn and be taught (I’ve been hitting the books with vigor since starting this process).

3 – How can I make the most of this strength?

7 OF CUPS

Initially this card seems to contradict the previous one. But when you look at the two cards side by side, the Page appears to be using his sword to cut through the clouds in the 7 of Cups. So I can use my logical approach to cut through confusion and present the querent with clear options.

I think this card could also be telling me I need to inject a little imagination and intuition. Too much logic can be a bad thing, and I do believe learning to trust my intuition more will improve my readings a hundred-fold.

4 – What is my greatest weakness?

10 OF RODS (WANDS)

Hello 10 of Wands, my old friend. This card has been popping up all over the place recently. In general it tells me I don’t have the time to take on yet another project (yawn). But specifically, it sums up exactly what happens when I read tarot. It can take me hours, days – weeks, sometimes – to do a reading. For some reason I seem incapable of taking the cards at face value. I keep looking for that other interpretation – you know, the secret, hidden one that I’m sure to find if I can just dig…a little…deeper. What can I say? It’s a gift. I’m working on it.

5 – How can I improve on this weakness?

KNIGHT OF RODS (WANDS)

“You know your problem?” he says. “You try too hard. Don’t sweat it. You know this stuff – just do the reading and move on already. We’ve got people to see, dragons to slay.”

On the subject of tarot reading, this knight’s advice might come across as irresponsible and – ahem – cavalier. But I get what he’s saying. I need to have more confidence in my abilities and try not to get too bogged down.

6 – What will be my biggest challenge?

DEATH

Unless the answer is “this card, in this reading”, I haven’t a clue. Do you?

Okay, I’ll try not to be a wuss and take a pinch of my own advice. So, what am I looking at? A skeleton holding a scythe (cutting down), a river running red (purging, releasing), a sunset (ending, closing). Okay, that helps somewhat and actually, having already done my first free reading I can relate.

“Cutting down” – one of the things I mentioned to my mentor is that I have trouble being concise. I felt my reading was too long, too wordy and too heavy. Luckily she’s handy with the red editing pen. “Purging, releasing” – again, I really need to purge some words and I don’t mean all over the page. Maybe also I’ll need to purge some bad habits or beliefs, I don’t know. And “ending, closing” – well, I struggled with the summary of the reading, identifying the core message (the “bare bones” if you will). I need to work on that.

I’m not sure any of these is the one true secret hidden meaning 😉 but at least I don’t have a big glaring hole in my reading any more. I still want to know what you think though.

7 – What can I do to improve my chances of success?

9 OF PENTACLES

I can conduct myself with dignity and grace. This card says I’m responsible for my own success. I need to be disciplined and professional, and I should try to project an image of competence and confidence (so let’s hope none of my querents are reading this ;-))

This card is also about self-reliance. As a self-employed tarot reader the buck will stop with me. I need to be able to rely on my own skills, develop my own style and know my own boundaries. So I should spend time focusing on personal and professional development. Funnily enough, I’ve just started reading Professional Tarot by Christine Jette which seems like it will help me with all of this.

8 – What is the most likely outcome of this journey?

THE STAR

Remember this card came up as the outcome in the reading I did about applying to be a free reader? Of course you do. I was gushingly positive about it then – well, the Star is an extremely positive card. But I forgot about one important aspect. The Star guides us and lets us know we’re on the right track (hooray!) but it also tells us there’s a long road ahead. Endorsement in itself isn’t enough – I have to keep learning, working and journeying if I want to reach my goal. Knowing how good I am at sticking at things, this card is a gentle reminder that following the Star (keeping my destination in mind) will deter me from straying too far from the path.

To summarize… it looks like I can do this, if I apply myself and continue to learn and develop my skills. But I need to know this isn’t going to be a fast process. I need to work on trusting my intuition and increase my confidence (which hopefully will come with practice). I need to be humble and realise that I have a lot to learn. But I also need to be more relaxed about the whole deal.

OK, got it. 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Right Foot at Archer Tarot.

meta

