Swoosh

April 25, 2012 § 4 Comments

There goes April. Wave as it passes you by….

Before the month was out – before my book was out – I wanted to do so much more horn tooting. But that’s what happens when life has other plans. This month I become a published author – a dream I’ve had pretty much my whole life – and to be totally honest with you (because it’s my blog and why should I try to be anything else here?) right at this moment I couldn’t care less.

So what to do. Every day I think “I should be promoting my book”. I’m not going to have this opportunity again. It should be hitting Amazon and the like around this weekend. I should be cheerleading, blurting vibrant messages into the blogosphere/twittersphere/tarotforumasphere. But I just can’t. I haven’t got it in me. Right at this moment my life is the spitting image of the Strength card and honestly, the woman in that card might look all calm and patient and composed but really her whole body aches and she’s tired and she can’t stop crying when no one’s looking (and often when they are).

So what I’m doing at the moment is nothing. And the only reason I’m writing this post is so I can give myself permission to do nothing. I’ve explained myself. I’ve publicly given a reason for failing to market my own book (for anyone that cares). The book will still be out in two weeks or a month or whenever I manage to escape from this hole. Until then, this is pretty much as good as it’s going to get.

§ 4 Responses to Swoosh

  • EC says:

    Lord I know what you mean. The promotion bit is awful. You write the book and then – well, you WRITE it; don’t the PUBLISHERS do the promotion ? I never quite get it.
    You do nothing girl – you’ve earned it 🙂

  • Allison says:

    I thought it was the publishers gig to do all the marketing and promoting too!?

    And another thing (Missy!) your book will be ACE (on it’s own merits, without the need for ram-it-down-your-throat and twist-my-arm marketing techniques) because you are ACE.

    Sending you virtual cups of tea, choc caramel slice, tissues to dry your eyes and a big shoulder squeeze.

  • nicolediamond says:

    Consider this a virtual mojito.

  • Lynda Cowles says:

    Thanks guys. Virtual mojito downed in one. Tea, choc slices, tissues and shoulder squeeze received with gratitude. 🙂

    Publishers do a lot, but they don’t do it all. Nowadays authors are supposed to do most of the marketing legwork. Which is fair enough. But I’m not very comfortable with it at the best of times and at the moment it feels like the straw that will break my back.

    Although, I don’t think I’m supposed to actually admit that to anyone…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Swoosh at Archer Tarot.

meta

