The Celtic Tarot

September 15, 2008 § 5 Comments

I really should not be allowed on the internet without parental supervision…

The Celtic Tarot by Courtney Davis and Helena Paterson (not to be confused with about a gazillion other Celtic Tarots) caught my eye some time ago but I have always hesitated. I have seen scans where the images are bright and beautiful (as below) and some where they look very pale and insipid. Not knowing which I’d get, I’d managed to resist ordering it so far. But earlier today, as I was searching for something entirely different, I came across scans of the entire deck…and I was smitten.

Oh dear oh dear oh dear. I am supposed to be writing about and appreciating my new Sheridan Douglas. I am supposed to be studying my Haindl. I am supposed to be saving all my money for baby (I hear they can be quite expensive).

I blame Amazon. Yes, it’s all their fault. They just make it too easy. But look! How could I not? Even the “plain” non-scenic pips are beautiful.

I do not regret the decks I bought…only those I did not buy.

Tagged:

§ 5 Responses to The Celtic Tarot

  • Bea says:

    Very pretty. Very colourful. But what is with the indentations on the Knight of Coins? Do other cards have that? Why? If some do and some don’t – that would bug the sheisters outta me.

    Sorry, didn’t mean to be an Eeyore about your new purchase..

    Shutting up now.

  • archertarot says:

    Fear not, your eeyorenish cannot sway me. It’s the morning after my impulse buy and I’m still really excited, so that’s a good sign!

    The cut-outs…all the Coins courts have them, as do some of the coins pips. No other minors have them. Some of the Majors have something like them, where the border moves inward and becomes part of the image (like the Emperor above). So consider yourself well and truly bugged.

    Actually, it’s one of the things I like about the deck. Don’t ask me why, I just do.

  • geslina says:

    I know this is a very old post, but I hope you didn;t regret your purchase of the Celtic Tarot…and I also hope you didn;t pay too much, as Barnes n Noble offers this deck in their discount section for $9.95 all the time.
    I too hesitated, esp cause the card always showing in the window of the box is the Emperor, and his colors are not the most beautiful compared to others in the deck. Then I saw an online reading with the Celtic tarot, and went and bought it the next day. Even the picture-less pips are gorgeous.
    I use my deck often, and always enjoy it’s jewel tones and big sturdy cards…it’s a great deck..

  • Lynda Cowles says:

    No regrets…although I don’t use it as much as I wanted to back then (read: at all). I had trouble reading the non-scenic minors. I still think it’s very beautiful though, and I don’t think I’d ever want to part with it.

  • hayley says:

    I lost my book to my set i was still learning T_T

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Celtic Tarot at Archer Tarot.

meta