The Joy of (Tarot) Decks

July 1, 2010 § 4 Comments

I’ve decided I’m going to start posting in earnest at the blog I set up for Tarot Chest, cleverly entitled The Joy of (Tarot) Decks.

When I say “in earnest” what I mean is that I plan to post more than once every three months. 😉 Yes, it’s a thinly veiled attempt to get more people to visit the store. But, more importantly than that, it’s a thinly veiled attempt to make writing about tarot in work time perfectly legit.

I’ll be posting there any thoughts I have about decks I stock or particular cards belonging to decks I stock – as in tonight’s post about the Shadowscapes Magician. I’ll also be posting more video reviews there, on top of the two already posted for the Shaman Tarot and the Dark Angels Tarot. And I’ll probably occasionally go on about how great Tarot Chest is and how everyone should buy from it.

Please visit. 🙂

§ 4 Responses to The Joy of (Tarot) Decks

  • Hedera says:

    Great idea!
    I’ve subscribed. 🙂

    I really like the way you write about tarot.
    And now you make me want to give the Shadowscapes another go…

    • archertarot says:

      I take it the Shadowscapes didn’t grab you then? I know some people have been disappointed with the size of the images and not being able to make out the small details. I love it though. It’s the best deck I’ve bought in a long, long time. Really beautiful and very readable as well.

  • Hedera says:

    No, so far it hasn’t clicked; not even so much for the small size, I was prepared for that, but virtually all of the cards feel so samey to me; similar in composition, mood, expression, tone etc.
    (the 8 of Pents is the one exception)

    It feels less readable to me because of that similarity between the cards; I like to be able to tell which card is which from a long way away, somehow.

    I have a feeling I might like it more in the fall, or something – I’m quite willing to give it a few more chances, just not now.

    • archertarot says:

      Ah, I get what you mean. Although I don’t agree (about the cards being samey). I think there’s a lot of variety and only a few cards I have to think “what’s that?” – the 9 and 10 of Cups got me at first. 🙂

      Funnily enough I was doing a video review of the Shadowscapes this evening to post here. It would have been a very good review but I have to do it again as most of the cards were out of shot – lol!

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Joy of (Tarot) Decks at Archer Tarot.

meta