Shining Tribe – 6 of Birds

June 22, 2008 § Leave a comment

I had a little free time this afternoon and on a whim decided to create my own version of a card from the Shining Tribe Tarot. The card I chose to copy was the 6 of Birds, for no other reason than it seemed quite nice.

I traced the outline onto card and then added the individual elements in freehand. Never again will I dare to judge Rachel Pollack’s drawing ability – it’s a lot harder than it looks!

Anyway, here’s her card and my copy:

The 6 of Birds

I haven’t coloured it in yet and may not do. I think it would be fun to create – or, rather, recreate – the whole deck this way. It was a great way to get acquainted with the card and consider the possible symbolic meanings. To me, the large bird above the sleeping woman’s head seems like a guardian, protecting her and watching over her as she dreams. Just as the stones form a protective circle around her. And the snake slithering beneath her represents her dreams, which flash with hidden meaning and insight in her resting mind.  

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shining Tribe – 6 of Birds at Archer Tarot.

meta

