Scans of the Dark Fairytale Tarot, Part 1

May 2, 2012 § 9 Comments

So I’ve got my hands on a copy of the Dark Fairytale Tarot, which should be in stock at Tarot Chest in a couple of weeks. I’ve been looking forward to this deck – from the (very) few images I’d seen I hoped it might be eerily enchanting. But when I opened it, to be honest, I was disappointed. In fact, my exact tweet was:

“Shiny fronts matt backs, digital photo-realistic montage, overblown special effects, beautiful young women looking pensive in various poses.”

However….I have been giving it another look and am starting to appreciate it more. I think the main problem was the huge difference between my expectations of what it was and the reality of what it actually is. But, in fairness, what it actually is isn’t all that bad.

For example, here are the scans I’ve just uploaded to the store. I chose cards that I thought looked nice but also tried to choose ones that are representative of the deck as a whole and that also WORK as tarot cards (very important that).

  

  

I’ve noticed also that the cards look nicer when I’m not looking at them too closely and when there’s lots of them together, as there would be in a spread. So perhaps all is not lost.

Next, I’ll post some scans of what I consider to be the not-so-nice cards. But, tell me, what do you think of it so far??

 

P.S. I think my scanner needs dusting…

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Scans of the Dark Fairytale Tarot, Part 1

  • Marilotte says:

    This feels like a mix of several recent CGI & darkish decks… Not my cup of tea so far.

    Although that first image reminds me an awful lot of the episode in the first season of the new Dr Who (you know, the one with Christopher Eccleston?), where the shop dummies come to life…. 😉

  • Lynda Cowles says:

    Well, I don’t watch Dr Who so I can’t comment on that but I get the sentiment.

    Now that you mention it, it reminds me a bit of the Dark Angels, except the Dark Angels felt more… defined. Same black-with-a-different-colour-for-each-suit borders. And of course, the Dark Angels had wings.

    Maybe I should read the LWB – that might help. 😉

  • This is a nice collector’s deck. But, I would not use it for readings. I was taught not to use tarot cards with faces of real people.

    Marilotte:

    I watch Doctor Who when it is aired in the U.S. However, I have not watched the show since the new guy started. But, I will check out the episode you speak of.

    ASHE’

  • Lynda Cowles says:

    I’ve never heard of that before – not using decks with faces of real people. I’d be interested to hear the reason for that.

    I find it very difficult to read with the Mountain Dream Tarot, which I love, possibly because the real people make it difficult to ‘step back’.

    • Lifeisabutterfly says:

      Perhaps the reason for not doing a reading with decks that have the faces of real people is that the reading might be influenced by the energies of these people when you look at them. Some psychics perform photograph readings and just by looking at the photo they can glean much information about the person. I’ve actually done it myself several times without knowing personally the person who’s picture I was looking at and it’s uncanny–the person showing me the photo always confirms what I see, so maybe we can all do it albeit unconsciously…

  • […] For some nicer cards, see this post. […]

  • J.r. Rivera says:

    I have this deck, I love this deck lol. But seriously, this deck as well as the Mystic Dream are like siblings.

  • David Alan Richards says:

    I see Mystic Dream as a little less in your face and more gently flowing, but Dark Fairytale Tarot looks very dramatic and cool in a sort of fantasy movie way. I can already tell it’s a deck the artist took some time on. Ordered it today.

  • James Joss says:

    Is it me or does the man in the card at the top looks like Ricky Martin!?

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Scans of the Dark Fairytale Tarot, Part 1 at Archer Tarot.

meta